Definition of Adult Safeguarding
The statutory framework introduced under the Care Act applies to any person aged 18 or above who:

  • Has needs for care and support (regardless of the level of need and whether or not the local authority is meeting any of those needs)
  • Is experiencing, or is at risk of abuse or neglect, and
  • As a result of those needs, is unable to protect themselves against the abuse or neglect or the risk of it.
Are there different types of abuse?
People can be abused in different ways. The different types of abuse that people may suffer are listed below:
  • Physical abuse
  • Domestic violence
  • Sexual abuse
  • Psychological / Emotional abuse
  • Financial abuse
  • Modern Slavery
  • Neglect and acts of omission
  • Discriminatory abuse
  • Organisational abuse
  • Self neglect 
For more information please visit our Types of Abuse page
Where does abuse happen?
Abuse can occur anywhere; the list below is by no means exhaustive but gives some examples:
  • Someone’s own home
  • A carer’s home
  • Day care
  • Residential care
  • A nursing home
  • Hospital
 Concerned about an adult?    Social Care Direct 0345 6037630